Home > iPhone, Photography, Random Thoughts > of Love and Expectations

of Love and Expectations

So recently I’ve heard heaps of sad-love-stories from people who are close to me. Marriage problems, betrayals, wrong decisions… you name it. All these sort of forced me to give a deep thought on this issue of Love, which have caused thousands (or maybe millions?) to kill themselves.

Love, what a big word. As if I am qualified to talk about this topic. Anyway, I have always link the word LOVE with the word EXPECTATIONS. We always hear songs and poems talking about love without any expectations, care without hoping anything in return. But is that really the case in our real life? Personally, I know I always put in expectations in any relationships I am in. For example, when I love someone, I would had hope that she will love me back, someday, somehow. When I care so much for someone, I expect that he or she would care for me in returns, or at least appreciates me. Aren’t all these expectations?

Read on only if you agree with my statements above.

Expectations varies from case to case, and it will never be a fair case. We can put in tonnes of expectations in one relationship but less in the next. But I dare to say that one thing is constant, expectation grows. Imagine that you got a crush on a girl and you hope that one day she will notice you, and not crush your heart. Soon after she starts to notice you, you put in hope that someday she would give you a little chance to be with her. So now you two are together, you expect her to be loyal to you, to reply your messages, to say “I love you” everyday…and the list goes on. Soon as she fulfilled all these, your expectations grow bigger and expect her to tell you before she went out with friends. This would further develop to tell you who she is going out with and where are they heading to. Lastly, you would expect her to get your permission before she went out with friends. So what happen to the “I only hope that you will give me a chance, that’s all”? Oh humans… (I know the girlfriend will use what I write here to backfire me, hahaha!)

From my observations and experiences, expectation grows in relative of its fulfilment. It increases themselves as soon as the former are fulfilled. That explained why our expectations tends to be less when we are in some unhappy relationships. I’ve seen a friend of mine whose partner was far from homeland. All what my friend expect from the partner was just to meet up whenever there’s a chance and that he would be safe and sound. My friend never care how the partner treated her, just a little good deed would makes her flew to the moon and forget about all what is bad. But were just wondering, how long would this low expectation stays? Unless they are forever in this long distance relationship.

Judging by what I myself wrote here, I start to realise that the girlfriend sort of fulfilled almost all my expectations on her. Cause now my expectations went on to the highest level: Expect her to know what I am expecting. Man, now I feel bad. But nah, that shows that how good she is, that is why I would put in such expectation, right? Hahaha… she is indeed a great blessing for me.

Peace out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

